The South Asian Times

16 January 2019 15:43 PM

AAP marks entry to RS as 3 members take oath


New Delhi, Jan 29: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) marked its maiden entry to the Rajya Sabha as three of its new members, including party leader Sanjay Singh, took oath on Monday.?

The other two are businessman Sushil Gupta and chartered accountant Narain Dass Gupta.

It is for the first time that the AAP, which officially has 66 members in the 70-member Delhi Assembly including some dissidents, has sent its members to the Upper House.

Narain Dass Gupta took oath in English while Sushil Gupta and Sanjay Singh took oath in Hindi in front of other MPs and Vice President Venkaiah Naidu, who is also chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

"Now the country's common man will have representatives in the Upper House," AAP said in a statement.

Update: 29 Jan, 2018